Search engines.

I've just redesigned my website and was wondering what is done nowadays for

submission to search engines and optimisation? I can do all the HTML,

Javascrips, CSS, etc but I'm not a web programmer by profession so I don't know

what is the norm at present. When I was doing this professionally some 11 years

ago metadata tags and physical submission to search engines was needed. Can

anyone give me an update for modern websites?

It seems some search engines like meta tags with the information, some frown on 'hiding words' by making them the same color as the background, some sites prefer you have links to/from your site for better ranking.

Personally, I try to put in keywords, meta tags and information on the pages themselves and seem to rank pretty good. Of course you can do Googles Adwords(adsense?) for higher rankings.

Bob

Search engines love blogs.<p>

I think a lot of the sites you see come up first on Google when you search for things like

"wedding photographer" or "{your location} photographer" are people who are paying, as

with the Adwords thing already mentioned.

Content, content, content. And, grammar counts: fully formed, well-written sentences. Good page titles. Good alt text in image tags. Don't rely on flash or too much JS to simply navigate the site. Avoid superlatives in meta data ("best" "finest" "only" etc). Essentially, the search engines (especially Google) are getting good at visiting your web site and evaluating it not unlike and observant, jaded human would. Never try to game the system with anything too clever - that can land you in Google Hell, and it can take months or forever to climb out.