paul_brenner1

I'm a long-time large-format photographer. I recently bought a

Graphic View 4x5 with an Ilex Paragon 6 1/2" f/4.5 lens with perfect

glass. (The price for both fairly nominal ($225) and I bought it as

an "investment" for a camera which I could lend to photographers I'm

beginning to mentor.)

Anyway, I'm not familiar with this lens. From its general shape and

configuration it appears it might be a Tessar-type lens. It is

single-coated, so I assume its from the late 40's to late 50's.

Given the looks of the Ilex shutter, which looks like the original

shutter for the lens,I assume not much newer than that.)

Can anyone tell me anything about this lens?

Thanks,

Paul

As I recall from reading (several sources) yes, it is a Tessar-type lens. Many of the Speed and Crown Graphics came equipped with these, in the Ilex shutter, and it wouldn't surprise me if the Graphic View also came so equipped. (Same company, after all.) I assume you have the Acme #3 shutter.

I haven't seen anything definitive about when they started coating them. Also, it seems that Burke and James bought up a whole bunch of them and put coatings on them at some point I think in the late '50s or '60s, so that can confuse matters a little bit. I've seen some with a straw-colored coating, and a very few apparently later ones with a blue coating. One or more of those (blue coating) also had a B&J sticker on the barrel.

6-1/2" -- approx. 165mm -- is very close to the true "normal" focal length for 4x5, and this lens should cover very well when stopped down some.

By the way, the Ilex Acme shutters, when maintained, are excellent. They cranked them out like alarm clocks, and they're as reliable. If it hasn't been thrashed by long hard use, it should be worth a clean and lube (if it hasn't been already).

Hope this helps.