is just the pop-up on my 30E so I am a complete novice in flash

photography.

The way I see it is that I can get all of the 550ex functionality

with a 420ex and the camera controls minus the manual head zoom, the

extra range, the wireless capabilities, the ability to fire partially

charged, the strobe and finally the wide-angle coverage. Now, that is

important as I have a 17-35 and since I use that as my main lens (on

film). As I understand it, a simple sto-fen ex diffuser should do the

same on the 420ex and give me coverage down to 15mm. Correct?

Also, what is the catchlight thing on the 550ex? I read the 550

manual and it says that by tilting the head up and extending the wide

angle panel it creates a catchlight on the subjects eyes. Is that

there because it is assumed that you'll be firing the gun at some

other direction than the subject, so you need to redirect some light

back to the eyes? How can I emulate that on the 420ex?

Is there anything else that I should reeeeaaaally consider before

buying the 420ex?

Thanks in advance for the help.

Panos

If you do not plan to use wireless flash, you should have a look at the Sigma EF-500 ST-DG. It is cheaper and more powerful than the 420EX and offers a wide-angle panel plus manual control. But it lacks high-speed sync and zooms only to 28mm (but has the wide angle panel that covers 17mm).

With the 420EX you have to use E-TTL with its annoying pre-flash.

I have the 420EX and kind of regret it.

First of course, it is easy to use for most occasions and fits my EOS 30 perfectly.

But:

- I cannot use my cheap 20 USD slave flash for a nice hair light because it is triggered by the pre-flash.

- I do not know if it will ever work on a new digital body in the future. there are already a lot of issues with the older 380EX and the EZ series with the 300D. If the flash has a manual mode and can do TTL, it will always work.