Using Nikon F5/SB800 combo; bright sunlight; want a little fill

flash; using aperture priority on camera; TTL BL on flash; F4

aperture to limit DOF; camera says the shutter speed is too fast

(i.e. over 250 F5 sync speed).

Question: If i go ahead and shoot anyway, will the camera allow over-

exposure in this situation. If not what does it do:

- overide the aperture setting?

- allow the camera to select a higher shutter speed than 250 (which

i presume will cause a different problem?)

- fail to fire the flash (but i am pretty sure the flash is firing

in this scenario)

Geez, I am new to all this automation and I must say manual

everything still looks quite good sometimes!

any time taken to help me out on this is would be very much

appreciated.

Alistair

I believe the camera will act the same way my N90s would in that situation. If the flash is in the hot shoe, switched on and ready to fire the camera will set the shutter at the maximum flash synch speed of 1/250 second. Your picture will be overexposed.

Fix overexposure problem? Close down your aperture until the ambient exposure is 1/250 or less. Select slow flash synch. Alternatively, use a neutral density filter to give you a shutter speed of 1/250 or slower while still using the f/4 aperture for narrow depth of field.

And of course you can use manual exposure and flash settings to eliminate entirely any questions of "what will the camera do?"

Be well,

• 4 months later...

There are two options that I thought of (because I encounter this situation from time to time in my business).

One, set the camera to Shutter Priority mode, speed of 1/250 (or does the F5 do 1/300? I use the F100). This way, you're guaranteed to be getting the widest aperture within the sync speed of the flash.