Polarization filter problem

simon_kull

hi there

i hope you can help me:

ok, using a polarization filter, say in the mountains with snow etc.

helps to cut out UV and gives -generally speaking- stronger colors.

right? But this is all during the day with nice sunlight.

-How about the performance of a polarisation filter at dusk or dawn,

shadows or even with flaslight? do i always have to change it when

the sun's gone?

I'm new to this so help is greatly appreciateed.

thanks, simon

Polarizers also eliminate reflections, for example when making a shot through a window or when taking shots of "reflecting" vegetation.

Maybe you can FLASH through a window also with one of that or can flash reflecting surfaces in general, but i don't know for sure.

The polarizer's main effect is to deepen the sky and foliage by cutting out reflections.

A polarizer will not be much help after sunset or on cloudy days when the light is not very polarized. It will cut reflections off of water or glass, if you're in that situation, but only if the light source is at an angle.... a straight-on reflection like that of an on-camera flash in a window, is not polarized and so will not be cut by the filter. Reflections off of shiny unpainted metal also are not polarized and will not be affected by the filter.

Keeping the filter on the lens when it is not useful doesn't do any harm, except that you lose about 2 stops of exposure.... at dusk or dawn this could be an issue.

:)=