Learn to read the histogram...

I am a confused newbie in digital photography. Almost everywhere you

can read the mantra that you need to learn to "read the histogram"

for taking optimal pictures.

But no one seems to explain what this means in practical terms. How

does the histogram of a well exposed pic look like? What kind of

curve indicates that adjustments are necessary?

Thanks a lot

I am just reading Ron Reznicks e-book and from what he says, there is no specific curve shape that makes an image correctly exposed. Every image has of course a different and unique sort of distribution of brightness, luminosity, RGB-values or whatever exactly the histogramm shows. But if there is a significant gap on the left (white) or right (black) side, a compensation (stretching or shifting) of the curve might be required. Also if there are peaks jamming/touching either border, it indicates over or underexposure.

Matteo Del Grosso

<i>"How does the histogram of a well exposed pic look like?"</i><p>

There is not a correct standard curve. That depends on each image. But you can learn to identify problems instead, and with time you'll get accustomed to "reading the histogram". Some experimenting with different exposure settings to see how the histogram changes may help. It is like reading music, easy once you know how to do it. Well, the histogram is way simpler than music.<p>

There is a pretty good explanation in the dpreview glossary. Take a look: <a href="http://www.dpreview.com/learn/?/Glossary/Digital_Imaging/Histogram_01.htm">Glossary: histogram</a><p>

Jose Luis

A correct histogram has no specific shape. It typically hugs the right of the frame, though for highly-saturated colors it may make sense with some cameras to leave a bit of margin.

If there's a lot of space to the right of the histogram, you can expose more in order to reduce noise.