whether I should get a better lense and continue to use my old

camera or get a newer camera like a EOS 30v/33v and stick with my

old lense. Budget is a big question here as I only have budget for

either a new body like the EOS30v/33v or a faster lense of

equivalent cost. Since I have limited experience in photography, and

would like to start taking better pictures, I would welcome your

honest opinions. Thank you.

Tim

If you aren't having problems with your current camera body, keep it and buy a 50mm 1.8 now. Then save to swap your zoom for either the 3.5-4.5 version OR the 28-135IS, these will offer improved image quality, and the IS will buy you some usable speed too. Then, when your current body is starting to limit your photo's, but an EOS 30 S/H which is a great camera and will be a bargain.

I presume your comment that you don't find your lens fast enough is angled more at depth of field control, rather than shutter speed (you can compensate by using faster film anyway - and these days ISO 800 Fuji emulsions are surprisingly good for at least 9x6 enlargements - a vast improvement on what was available just a few short years ago). You don't indicate that you are being limited by the capabilities of the camera body. Therefore, your money should go on glass. While the slightly faster 28-105 or the 28-135 IS are better lenses optically than your f/4-5.6, they don't really offer much increase in aperture. You haven't given much hint as to what you shoot, but if portraits are your forte, I'd look for an 85mm f/1.8 (second hand if need be to get within budget), or a Tamron 28-75 f/2.8 if you prefer a wider range of focal lengths. A 50mm f/1.8 is certainly an excellent (and cheap) lens, worthy of consideration. Your choice will depend on your preferred range of subjects. If you can give a hint then perhaps we can advise you better.