I'm an eos film user but I am on the market for either a new 20d or a

second hand 1d. In New Zealand the price is similar, perhaps slightly

more for the 1d. I will be using it for professional fashion and

portrait photography. Both cameras have the features I need but would

like to know how the image quality compares? I understand the 20d has

2 times the pixels but the 1d has the bigger sensor, which would also

be handy for wide angle shots etc. So I guess I need magazine quality

and the ability to print poster size if I have to. So is there much

or any difference in overall image quality? Thanks for your help.

just off the top of my head.... I'd say there's a lot of difference between 4 and 8 megapixels. I'm no pro, but i don't think the 1D can give you quality images at those sizes... the 20D, maybe...(not sure about poster-size...) the 1Ds (11 megapixels, soon to be replaced by the 16.7 megapixel 1Ds MkII)is probably more along the lines of pro-level studio equipment... but has a price tag to match....

For having do a lot of graphism in the past, i can say the more dpi you have, the best it is! i had a four megapixel nikon cam before and it was good for that time but for make a full page image... you just dont have enough flexibility. With bigger image you can crop the way you want and stay in 300dpi. In fact even with 8mp, full page in 300dpi is like put too few butter on a big slice of bread. I prefer do in 240dpi and nobody never notice! Fo poster, it depend... i saw a lot of printing process going from 72dpi to 200dpi... its depend of the utility but if its for Photography poster, you know those ones with idylic landscape, montains over a lake in the dawn... forget about the 4mp.

Allez hop!

Good luck in your choice

the 1D is a way better camera all around .the 20D is a 10D with newer technology which enables it to max the hell out of that small chip it has.