How is Vuescan working with Elite 5400?

The Konica-Minolta Scan Elite 5400 is my first choice for upcoming

scanner purchase for several reasons:

1. I am not a professional, scan time is not my first priority. As

long as I can do one slide holder (or strip holder with 4~5 frames)

every half hour, I'm satisfied, though not thrilled. That is assuming

ICE and GD enabled.

2. The light source has been noted by several reviewers and users as

producing good results with both Kodachrome and silver based black

and white film.

3. The high resolution, coupled with the grain dissolver, seem

capable of extremely clean and detailed scans, with experience and

coupled with the right software.

I'm concerned by the problems Ed Hamrick has had assimilating this

scanner with Vuescan. I would much prefer to use the scanner with

Vuescan, for the usual reasons. I would like to hear from Elite 5400

owners who are using (or have used) Vuescan if the Vuescan problems

with the Elite 5400 are ongoing, or resolved. Some things I've read:

1. Vuescan was having problems "initialising" the Elite 5400, with

various poor scanning results, I think way-off color casts, banding,

and the like. Recently, Ed Hamrick posted on Usenet, saying to start

Minolta sw first, intialize the scanner, close the Minolta sw, then

open Vuescan and run its initialisation. This he termed a work-

around, and he said he is working on the problem.

2. Vuescan was having problems dealing with the infrared channel, mis-

cleaning adjacent to the damaged area, softening large areas,

etcetera. Also, and perhaps associated, the Vuescan cleaning was not

as thorough.

Anyone using this scanner with Vuescan, please respond as to how it

is working for you, at present, assuming you're using latest Vuescan

version. Thanks in advance.