Do different lenses have different contrast capabilities?

david_henderson

I've been using a Mamiya 7 alongside my Bronica SQAi for two years

now. Like others, I'm very impressed with the sharpness and indeed the

colour characteristics of the Mamiya lenses.

I think I'm beginning to notice that the Mamiya lenses may be a little

less tolerant of contrast than those for the Bronica - in particular a

greater tendency for shadows to block up with the Mamiya. This may be

down to lens characteristics or of course due to the fact that with an

SLR I can do more to control contrast. I use the same film types in

both cameras.

Has anyone else noticed this and indeed is it physically possible?

I'm obviously aware that film varies a lot in its ability to handle

contrast. Is the same true of lenses?

Thanks.