D1 as backup

joe_kallo

I was wondering if anyone keeps a D1 as a backup body for a D70, and if so, how that

works out. I'm not a pro, but I do often travel--sometimes with the express purpose of

photographing. Previously, with film cameras, I'd always have another body of some type

along with me and I worry about not having a backup sometimes. It would also

occasionally be nice to have two bodied in situations that demand frequent lens changes

(especially in dusty environs).

I'm thinking of the D1 (as opposed to maybe another D70 or D100) as a backup for a few

reasons:

1. They're getting pretty inexpensive on the used market.

2. It would be *really* nice to have a weather and bump resistant body.

3. I work in RAW so the purple people problem isn't really one for me.

Thanks for any input.

I have had a D100 for two and half years. Essentially my backup is still a film body (or two), and some of my film for backup purposes are expiring. So far, I have never needed my backup. At this point, my strategy is to wait for something better to come along so that the new DSLR will be my main body and the D100 will become the backup. When I bought the D100 back in 2002, I knew all along that it would be my backup camera some day.

If you get a D1, for one thing IMO 2.7MP is not sufficient. And you'll need to carry a different type of battery and charger.

> 1. They're getting pretty inexpensive on the used market.

Silly really, as they are still a superb camera for many purposes.

> 2. It would be *really* nice to have a weather and bump resistant body.

... and one that costs so little you don't mind if you break it (which you won't).

> 3. I work in RAW so the purple people problem isn't really one for me.