is lens seperation okay to buy?

danny_liao

I would stay away from it. I am no lens expert, but what I have heard it can scatter the light entering the lens thus causing the image to be soft/less sharp. Pay the extra money and be happy with your lens. In terms of resale also, not a good investment.

Thumbs down

If the separation is on the extreme edge of the glass, it probably won't matter when the lens is stopped down for taking a photo. My worry would be that the separation would grow with time. I wouldn't buy except at a hefty discount from the price of a lens in excellent condition.

Which 90 mm Schneider? Angulon? Super-Angulon? How old? (There is a serial number / age table at http://www.schneideroptics.com/info/age_of_lenses/.)

Danny,

I'd agree with what Michael said and wouldn't even consider a purchase unless it was

HEAVILY discounted. However, whatever decision you make, keep in mind that, in

most cases, the separation only gets worse with time.

If you get it for a REAL bargain...then it might be worthwhile sending it into S.K.

Grimes and have them re-glue it.

IMHO, given the low prices on most LF lenses these days (on *ba*) I'm not so sure I'd

be spinning my wheels and taking the risks on a separated piece of glass! But, that's

only my opinion.

Good luck.

Cheers

There are so many lenses available, the advise given is right on. But, really, when a 20-, 30-, 40- whatever-year-old lens has a smidgeon of lens separation, how bad is it going to get in another 2-3-4, 10 years? I have used many lenses that wouldn't pass a "loupe" test. They work just fine in the real world.