Film plane metering with handheld meter

steve_yeatts

I'm new to LF. I'd like to take some extreme close-ups without

having to calculate exposure adjustments due to bellows extension.

Is it possibly to meter at the film plane using a regular hand-held

light meter? I was thinking that I could remove the back, and under

the dark cloth simply hold the meter at the film plane. If I did

this, I know I'd have to adjust for the fact that the light hitting

the meter would already reflect apeture and shutter speed settings,

but I don't know how to do this. Is this practical? Thanks.

<p>There have been special meters made to meter in front of the ground glass, and other meters have attachments to meter the light from the ground glass image. Another recent thread discusses these: <i>Meter reading on ground glass?</i> at <a href="http://www.photo.net/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-msg?msg_id=00AqP6">http://www.photo.net/bboard/q-and-a-fetch-msg?msg_id=00AqP6</a>.</p>

Hi Steve: I contributed to that thread Michael referred you to. As I said there, the answer to your question is no, although there are some very expensive spot meter attachments available that allow you to meter ahead of the ground glass, or back attachments used in lieu of your ground glass with spot meter attachments.

As far as bellows factors, there is a gizmo available from Calumet, I think, that's basically a two-part scale printed on plastic. You place one scale. Find it on the ground glass, then use the other part to measure the size of that scale as it appears on the ground glass. That measurement gives you the bellows factor. Accurate? Well, it gives you ballpark factors. I still calculate them the old fashioned way by measuring how far I've got them racked out, and roughly how much swing, tilt and rise I've got for whatever lens I'm using. After awhile, you get pretty good at estimating the amount of compensation you need and a quick Polaroid tells you how much to adjust in order to zero it in.