Rook Mamiya question

mag_miksch

A wedding photographer in my town offered me one of his old Mamiya

RB67 including a 65/4.5 lense. As I?m interested I took it with me to

do some test shots but now to my shame I cannot see how to proper use

the lense to get maximum DOF. Normally I shoot landscapes with Nikon

manual focuss, its easy to set DOF according the lines on the lense.

I`m pretty shure this can be easy done with RB 67 too, but I dont see

how to set hyperfocus not to run to much into infinity with DOF. I

see there is a ring at the front side, its not to set time and not to

set aperture, its a kind of DOF table as I understand, but how to set

hyperfocus according this information.

And beside this, I have no knowledge about Mamiya and the lenses,

I just find out that there is a newer 65mm/f4 lense, how does this

compare to the offered 4.5? Reading in this forum I also found out,

that it seems to me some RB 67 have mirror lock up and some not, how

can I check this?

Thanks and Kind Regards

Martin

On the side of the camera is a scale with curves for all focal length, use this to get a measurement of the distance. Use the ring to get the correct hyperfocal distance and adjust bellow draw with the scale on the side.

All RB67 have mirror lockup, you have to turn the knob at the lens and use a double cable release for body and lens. Don't forget to turn the knob back after using the MLU, without it the trigger at the body will release it (mirror goes up), but the shutter won't fire, leaving blank film.

Martin