using polarization filters with teleobjectives

antti_luukkonen

I have no experience using polarization filters (or any other filters, to be exact) and I've recenetly got interested in using them and therefore I need some information about the subject. I read with great interest Moose Peterson using polarization filter with his Nikon 300/2,8, especially, because I have a same objective. In what kind of situations can pol-filter been used with teleobjectives? Does it reduce the blue light when photographing in late night shady light? As far as I know, Nikon doesn't have 39 mm pol-filter, so who does produce a one?

Polarizers on telephotos are used to do the same things

that they do on all other lenses. Basically saturate

colors, remove specular reflections (e.g. from the

surface of water), darken blue skies and sometimes cut

through haze. If you want to remove blue light, a

warming filter (81A, 81B, 812 Tiffen) is a better

bet. More effective and cheaper!

<p>

I know that <a href="http://www.kirkphoto.com">Kirk Enterprises </a> (here in the USA) makes

a rotating circular polarizing filter for the big

Nikon lenses. Price is about $300. I'd be quite suprised

if Nikon didn't make something. The Kirk filter can be

rotated with the filter installed in the lens. With

some filters you may have to install it in the right

orrientation.

<P>Polarizing filters block polarized light (light vibrating in one direction, such as those reflected from water, shiny surfaces, and also haze associated with light bouncing off particulate matter in the upper atmosphere.

<P>It will darken blue skies without distorting chromatic rendition of other colors; the filters will are also effective in B&W photography. If your camera is a modern 35mm SLR, it probably has a beam-splitting metering system and will require a circular polarizer - consult your camera manual.