Less than a full stop bracketing with ETRSi

cosmo

I've searched photo.net and google but can't find the answer to this.

I'm new to MF and have only been shooting period for about a year. I

have a Bronica ETRSi with 40mm lens (full f-stop adjustments) and a

Sekonic L408. My question is this:

I take a reading of a scene and it says that at F11 I should use

1/200th - fine I can handle that :-) It's when it says that I should

shoot 1/200th @ F11 AND +2/3 that I come unstuck.

Is there a way to work out how to get that +2/3 on an ETRSi? given

it's "limited" aperture and shutter speed settings? I assume

(possibly incorrectly) that given a range of shutter speeds and

apertures that almost any exposure is possible - is there a table

somewhere?

Thanks for your help.

Marc

1/3 stop should be within the film's latitude, even slide film. Is a 408 a spotmeter? I think so - I have the 508. If so, move it around the scene and take a series of readings. All sorts of things in your scene would probably be higher and lower than the simple reading you're taking. Read a few of them, note them down. Then you have to start making choices. Might be worth reading St Ansel Adams on light readings though lots of people are just as good without ever mentioning the dreaded zone system, which seems to have the status of a religion among American photographers.

Sounds like you have an older (E?) lens which has only full stop detents. The newer PE lenses have half stop detents I believe - or at least that's the way things work on the SQAi system. If you're setting the exposure manually then the lenses do close down between detents so that, taking your example setting the aperture half way between f11 and f16 will give you close to the exact exposure.