Hi:

I am thinking about biding for a 4x5 (Cambo SC) that has friction

focusing. This will be my first camera if everything goes well. I

was wondering if the more experienced LF users can tell me whether

friction

focusing is something that I must absolutely avoid (it makes sense

that geared focusing is better). How is the performance during cold

weather?

Any quick responses will be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Evangelos,

I'm new to large format. My camera has geared focusing on the rear and friction focusing on the front. I don't feel any need for geared focusing on the front, but if the rear wasn't geared, I think it would drive me crazy.

I've used a Cambo since 1972 in temperatures down to 0 degrees F. I have two view cameras, the Cambo and a Horseman with geared focusing. They both work fine. For field use, I think the Cambo focussing is a bit better ONLY because it doesn't care if the rail gets dusty, dirty, wet, etc. I have had a small bit of trouble with the Horseman and have had to clean the gears etc. at times when they become dirty.

I'm not sure why you thing geared focusing is "better." If you are going to use the camera in a studio and record setups, then yes, geared focussing makes more sense because it is easer and faster to repeat setups if the camera has scales on the standards for reference.

Otherwise, after over 30 years of use - I have no complaints with the Cambo friction focussing system. It works fine. If you are worried about slip or creep, that just doesn't happen as long as you lock the front or rear standard once you have it in position (tighten the knob on the left side of the rail).