Real World Photoshop by Blatner and Fraser

I just want to clear up one misconception that I've seen on this site

several times. Those who recommend Blatner and Fraser's RW Photoshop

CS book to PS newbies, obviously have forgotten what it is like to

learn Photoshop for the first time. Real World Photoshop assumes a

lot of basic knowledge about the tools and processes in Photoshop.

Ex. it discusses various ways to customize the lasso tool, but never

explains what the lasso tool does (it assumes you know). I would

characterize it as a good book for those who have broad but shallow

knowledge of PS and want to deepen it. Not advanced users, but not

absolute beginners either. Please stop recommending it to absolute

beginners!

I find the Real World series to be excellent for beginners and advanced users. The problem with the series is that is draws out explanations with pointless chatter and triplicate wording that the books bloat to 3 times the needed sizes. Partly this is my learning style, but there is way too much crap in their than needs to be.

Maybe the market likes that, but there is not much else on the market that is as comprehensive in a broad and general way. I much prefer the Visual Quick Start guides. Less ego-author BS, and more to the point of what is going on. Also, less examples were the original looks better than the correction! Fo course being in black and white hides the bad correx.

Page 501, RWPS7:

<p>

<i>The Lasso tool lets you create a freeform outline of a selection. Wherever you drag the mouse, the selection follows until you finally let go of the mouse button and the selection is automatically closed for you.</i>

<p>

Presumably he was kind enough to put similar text in CS version.

<p>

The reason RWPS is 800 pages is that Blatner <i>does</i> rehash the important bits of Photoshop's manual, and in such a way to make them unambiguous and useful.

<p>