Printing with profiles

I would like to hear from anyone who is actually using custom

profiles for his printer (either self-made, or from some lab etc).

Please describe the following:

1) Type of the printer

2) where does the profile come from

3) Editing software used (Photoshop or other)

4) the result (good, bad)

5) If bad, what is the problem (couple of words only)

I do not think that printers work very well when print space defined

by the user is other than Printer Color Management.

Please do not flame me for this statement: this is my experience with

Canon i965 which has a total disregard for any profile I care to

specify, so I would like to know your experience, particularly with

printing portrait type pictures.

Leszek

I use custom profiles for my Canon S900 (my favourite paper is Ilford Classic Pearl). I made the profile myself (I do this for a living). I use Photoshop CS and the results are excellent.

As to your statement about using the Printer Colour Management instead of Photoshop/OS CM (if that is what you meant) that is not my experience at all. I wonder if your experience is tested on a broad enough sample to make such a generalisation. There are a lot of people who use the standard proceedure who don't have the problems you have.

I work in Photoshop in Adobe RGB and set that for my document space in print preview and use my custom profile description for soft proofing and for printing space. I turn off colour management in the printer management dialog box, set the print quality manually to Fine and use glossy pro as the paper description and I'm very pleased with the match from my monitor (which is also hardware profiled) to my prints. (I assume that you've hardware profiled your monitor? If you haven't, you have to.)

Setting aside intensity issues of monitor emitted light versus print reflected light, I'm very pleased with the accuracy of colour management on my Mac using OS X 10.3.2. What I see *IS* what I get.