and can't see a difference in sharpness. For those with technical

understanding out there I ask, hasn't the intervening 30+ years of

evolution in manufacturing tolerance with CNC machining & other

methods of error reduction made the actual grinding of lenses & other

assorted lens assembly specifications more substantially capable of

improved final results? Think of 30 year old car engines. They pale

in comparison to the modern version in almost any respect; horsepower

per unit of displacement, fuel efficiency, reliability etc. How come

the same dramatic advances seem to have eluded lens design?

I am no Hasselblad expert, but a few of the 30 and 40 year old Leica lenses I use are pretty darn close to the current ones in terms of color reproduction,and resolution/contrast. I am also still amazed at the results I get with the 40 year old Zeiss Planar on my Rollei TLR. I think the major lens improvements in the last few decades have been in the coatings (flare resistance and wide open contrast improvements)and with the zoom /superwide/ super telephoto designs. The slight wide, normal, and short tele's haven't been improved upon that much in my opinion.

Ernie

You are correct. I have been using Hasselblad cameras and lenses for almost 30 years. I have use the silver ones, the black t star, the cf, and now cfi. I always upgraded for tax reasons and not for other reasons. I can honestly say that I cannot see a difference in sharpness today from 30 years ago "that is attributable to the lenses". there certainly is a difference in the quality of the films though and that maybe what some people are seeing. One must remember that there are certain physical rules that will always be with us. Diffraction is one of them. flare is another. steadiness is another.