Here's my dilemma - when I'm ready foor it (maybe another year) which

one do I buy??

"Canon Zoom Telephoto EF 75-300mm f/4.0-5.6 EF IS Image Stabilizer

USM Autofocus Lens"

or

"Canon Zoom Telephoto EF 70-200mm f/4.0L USM Autofocus Lens"

Its a question of whether I need the extra 200-300 range or is the

quality of L series too good to turn down - I'm an amateur

photographer and I like Nature photography.

Help me out guys

Arun

I would suggest 70-200 f4. The 70 - 300 is not as good at the long end. If you can spring for it, go for the f2.8 model, With that you can add a 1.4x converter or 2x converter to get the long range "cheaply" without losing autofocus capability.

Also the 75-300 has zoom creep if it held at any angle other than perfect flat. I hate that really.

If you still want the 75-300, let me know. I can sell you my old one. I just bought 70-200 F2.8 L <b>IS</b> USM and it is great to use with the converted (2x) and i dont need the 75-300 anymore.

Remeber, going to the L series is costlier than just the lens. You will have to spring for a good filter set etc at the 77mm thread which is not very common in the consumer lenses and so most people would be buying their filter set with thier first L lens :)

Only you can answer the "do I need 200-300".

As for the quality -You are getting what you pay for.

75-300/NON-IS =$175

75-300/IS = $425 => Yes, the is the 75-300/NON-IS with IS added

70-200/4L = $570

70-200/4L + 1.4TC = $840 => Makes the combination F5.6. Optically very, very good. Gets you to 280mm.

As for IS => When I shoot in broad daylight (not twilight or indoors), I typically see shutter speeds over 250 and for those shutter speeds, IS does not help significantly.

In low light conditions, or at night, I use a tripod. IS does help on a tripod, but you generally don't need IS when on a tripod.