Zoomed Compact for Mountains

haluk_yildiz

Dear Photographers,

I am a beginner who is interested to take slide photos during my

mountain climbs. My primary concern is weight. So I am focused on

Compact 35 mm Cameras. I hate SLRs as it requires lots of knowledge

to take some pictures. I want to archieve some slides that may be

attached to the the book about mountains in the future. I have

checked the market and found 3 options. 1) Canon Sureshot Z90W 2)

Olympus Stylus 28-80 DLX Date 3) Minolta Freedom Zoom Explorer. In

fact, I don't have any idea about the difference between the image

qualities. The weather-proof Olympus seems logical but its lens has 9

elements in 8 groups whereas Minolta's 4 elements 4 groups. Does it

effect my image quality on mountains?

I would be more than happy if anyone can recommend me something

suitable for mountains and not more expensive than USD 200.

Regards

HAluk

Haluk, if you read extensively on this site you will find that it requires lots of knowledge to take decent pictures consistently, and the knowledge is more important than the type of camera that you use. You will hear from people on this site who have used all three of the cameras you mention. I have used the Sureshot and can confirm that it is capable of making good images. However, the auto functions can let you down in many situations, and it is important to know what the camera can and can't do. I wouldn't worry about number of lens elements or groups as a measure of performance.