Youth Sports SALES TACTICS!? Question!

erin_m1

Hi, I have a question about youth sports and sales tactics.

In the last year I have started taking pics for YOUTH SPORTS (ie.

Soccer, Baseball, Flag Football, etc.) I was wondering if any of

you that also do youth sports can offer me some advice.

Previously what I would do is go a (youth) sporting event and take

pics of all the kids and then hand out business cards with a web

address where the pic would be posted. That and I would also have

parents walk up to me and ask if I was a photographer and if I could

take pics of their kids. The parents would often times give me

THEIR e-mail address. At which time I would send them a reminder and

a link to view the pics on a web hosting and printing site like

printroom. So here is the deal. After I go home and edit, crop,

sharpen, and post the pics on the website I hardly get any sales.

And I know my pics are DAMM GOOD, the question of quality is not a

problem. And I think the price is far also, $7 for a 5x7 and $12

for an 8x10, etc. I am using a Canon 1D Mark II, with a 70-200

2.8L IS (basically $6600 worth of gear). So I have all these

parents begging to get my attention, and make sure I take pics of

their kids, give me their e-mail address, and yet...no sales.

I am getting tired of taking pics on SPECULATION (shooting first and

trying to sell later). I would rather have fewer parents that were

guaranteed or committied to buying my pics, then to show up and take

200+ pics willy-nilly and not sell any.

Are there any YOUTH SPORTS Photographers out there that can offer any

advice. I was thinking of charging a "shooting fee" of $20.

Printroom has coupons that you can handout (1 time use only) that

have a code in them that the parents use to go online and order

prints. So basically I wanted to charge a shooting fee of $20, and

then handout pre-paid coupons that are (set-up) good for $20 worth of