Year on copyright stamp

gcoates

I'm looking at buying a copyright stamp for use on the back of my prints. I've

seen statements on some vendor sites that say the copyright stamp must include

the year in order to "protect" the copyright adequately.

However, I thought that the stamp isn't needed to protect the copyright at all

in a legal sense. If this is true, then the copyright stamp on the back would

just be a deterrent to the people who might try to copy the prints and a notice

to any photo labs that the photos are professionally done.

I know that a couple of attorneys frequent this forum. Do any of you have input

in this matter? Does the year need to be included on my copyright stamp, or is

this just a marketing tactic by the stamp companies so that I will buy a new one

each year?

I am not a lawyer, nor do I play one on Television. I did talk to a Lawyer years ago who told me that all you have to put on the back of a print is Copywrite and the R in a Circle. This show that you have the intent to copywrite, and that is all you need. I am sure someone will have a different opinion.

The copyright notice had to be affixed work published prior to March 1, 1989, or it immediately lost copyright protection. (Copyright protection has been restored for some foreign works even if they were published without notice before 1989.) That law has been changed; work published after 1989 does not need a copyright notice to maintain its copyright protection. It is, however, a good idea to use a copyright notice when displayed or offered in any manner.