XSi on eBay?

katelindemann

I've been taking "artistic" (non-snapshot) photographs for a little over 7 years, and it's developed into a rather serious

hobby. I've used various point and shoot cameras until now (a 35mm Minolta Freedom and Canon A-540--frequently

in "manual" mode).

I think it's more than time to scrape together the funds for a DSLR and have settled on a Rebel XSi with kit (EF-S 18-

55mm f/3.5-5.6 IS) lens. I'm a college student, so cost is a HUGE concern for me. For this reason, I'm considering

buying the XSi body and lens, together or seperately, on eBay. My gut tells me to stay away from used equipment

and stick with Amazon, but my wallet tells me to go for it. Can anyone with experience buying used equipment in

general and doing so via eBay specifically offer any advice on the matter?

My boyfriend has bought tons of expensive music equipment from eBay sellers and never encountered any

complications. Can I exect similar luck in the XSi market? I don't plan on making my purchase until Christmas, but

even by then I don't expect any XSis will have been around long enough to experience much wear and tear. Any

thoughts?

I don't trust Ebay anymore. There's too many ways for someone to get away w/ selling you garbage. I'd offer two

alternative plans though. Since ebay burned me I switched to using craigslist, and while it doesn't have near the

selection, I've found a lot of what I was looking for by waiting a few weeks. That way you get to physically

check out the camera before you buy it. Alternatively you could consider buying a new Rebel XTi body and the

18-55 IS lens to go with it. You'll probably spend less money that way and get the warranty on both items. Or

grab a factory refurbed XTi (who knows, maybe they'll be some refurbished XSi's by then). Does budget overrule

your desire to go w/ the XSi? Either way, if you go used, I'd recommend dealing locally.

Good luck whichever way you go!