Would you be offended by a "guest" photographer?

rebecca_chavez

<p>I'm an amatuer photographer and I will be attending the wedding of a friend this weekend. The couple has a professional lined up to take photos and, if his work is anything like it was in a previous wedding I attended where he was providing services, it will be almost exclusively posed portrait photos. I don't know if he has a "sole photographer" clause or if he even has a contract with the bride (he's apparently a family friend). At the prior wedding I, while acting primarily as a bridesmaid, indulged in my photographic obsession (with the brides permission) and got some fairly nice photojournalistic and artsy B&Ws. The photographer didn't appear to have any problem with my presence or my snapping additional pictures, but that may be because I had another 'offificial' role to play.</p>

<p>I've offered to take some photos at this upcoming wedding just as a supplement to the professional's work. The bride thought it was a great idea and invited me to the rehearsal and backstage to take getting ready shots. I don't pretend to be a professional, nor would I ever attempt to steal shots from someone who was (i.e. taking shots over someone's shoulder) . I won't be using a flash and I won't be taking posed family photos (which appears to be his forte). I will take every precaution to stay out of his way as much as possible and have told my husband to keep an eye out to make sure I don't accidentally infringe on his territory. That being said, I will be bringing my DSLR and a couple of lenses. One will be a pretty hefty zoom lens (100-400) that I'm actually renting for a vacation later in the week (but which will be arriving early). </p>

<p>So the question is, would you be annoyed by my presence? Would you prefer it if I introduced myself at the beginning? How far can a guest go before they start treading on a professional's terrain? </p>

<p>Thanks!</p>

• Replies 82
  • Created
  • Last Reply