Why does my D80 take bad pictures in "Auto"

greg_gelber

<p>I have had better success in auto with my Canon SX100is (point-n-shoot) than with my D80 which I just got a few months ago (so I'm still learning about it). I use the manual settings on the D80 when I'm in a more controlled situaton but when the lighting is weird like at the end of a sunny day and I'm zooming in and out (18-55mm), full auto with the D80 seems to take under-exposed, off color photos.</p>

<p>Here are some inside test images I just took this morning. In auto, are there deep settings within the D80 that can correct this?</p>

<p><strong>The Canon point & shoot used the flash but didn't darken the outer edges:</strong><br /> http://s474.photobucket.com/albums/rr109/gsquared0318/General%20Photos/?action=view&current=CanonInside.jpg</p>

<p><strong>D80 with flash darkened the background and didn't produce right white bal:</strong><br /> http://s474.photobucket.com/albums/rr109/gsquared0318/General%20Photos/?action=view&current=D80withFlash.jpg</p>

<p><strong>D80 without flash:</strong><br /> http://s474.photobucket.com/albums/rr109/gsquared0318/General%20Photos/?action=view&current=D80without.jpg</p>

<p>Hi Greg! Uhmm! Having problems, huh? I might be wrong but a DSLR is not a camera meant to use in auto mode. The main reason to buy a DSLR is to be able to grow. So my first advice is to forget about your P&S camera, forget about auto mode on your D80 and set it into A mode. Here you will choose the aperture and the camera will choose the speed. Also set the ISO to auto with ISO 800 as maximum. Start from there. Play with the apertures all the way open to maybe f/8 in bright situations. also buy a book and read about exposure. I recommend "Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson" and you will find out how much fun your D80 is. Good luck! </p>