When do you use a diffuser

timages

<p>I recently did some studio portraits for a pal, during which apart from studio lights, I used direct flash on camera, with an EOS 3 and a 420EX, just experimenting I took some with the stoffen diffuser on and some without the diffuser, (the film was rated 200) I thought the images without the diffuser looked a lot better, even with direct flash on the camera. It got me thinking maybe the E TTL flash metering system of the EX speedlights is so good, it makes the use of diffusers redundant? I would be interested to know in what situations people would choose to use a diffuser, the stoffen type over the head of the flash unit. Im not talking about soft boxes etc, im an experienced photographer with a good understanding about various lighting techniques, before anyone enlightens me (no pun intended) about bounced flash etc. Thank You.</p>

<p>G`da, our work, mostly candid and all flash, we use diffusers all the time. direct flash on its own creates to many hot spots for us, many venues are warm and in nightclubs subjects often have moist skin. Generally use the gary fong tupperware, recently stopped using the sto fens and I have a few, one for each flash, am now using a mini one size fits all softbox which fits on with a large band, it has given far better and even soft light and not many highlighted flash reflections (1/4 the price). The sto fen was designed for bounce and pretty well useless straight on, even when bounced we still use a bounce card with the sto fen. most venues we do are dark with dark walls and ceilings. The canon flash works ok as a fill light when the studio lights are the main source, this I would rarely do, if my trigger circuits failed then it would be the workaround. </p>