When did you consider yourself a "professional"

laurenm

A lot of "professions" have criteria such as x number of years of schooling, or a linces of some sort whereas

photography may or may not even require formal schooling. When you were starting out, (or, if you are just

starting out), when did you consider yourself a "professional". In one way, it could be when you start taking

money in exchange for your services. I have always considered a professional to be someone who is an expert in

their field.

Therefore, the fact that I have recently been taking payment in exchange for photography services. I guess I am

in some ways a "professional", yet, I am by far an "expert" as I am still learning.

Just wondering as I just got a new file cabinet and filed my application for membership to Pro Photographeras of

MA. I feel funny joining because I'm sure most members are MUCH more experienced than myself.

• Replies 58
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

My mother sells brownies at the church bazaar, but that doesn't make her a professional chef...and amateur photographers are becoming as common (if not more so) as amateur chefs, bakers, grill meisters, etc. The lack of licensing or any tangible requirements allow anyone to call themself a "professional photographer."

IMHO, the term "professional" when it comes to photography refers to one who is clearly competent in their "profession" and derives their livelihood from it. While professional photography may not have the licensing or educational requirements of law, medicine, etc; to be "clearly competent" in photography requires an exceptional amount of knowledge, experience, education and general investment in the craft and business of photography.

Thanks Christopher. I agree. Though I am sure the way things are these days that "professional photographer's" groups have plenty of people at my level and I wonder if I am missing out on learning by not joining up.