What's the deal with lens hoods?

matt_t__brooklyn_

I've been shooting SLRs as a hobby for about 7 years now...first on a

Canon Rebel G, and in the past month, I have switched to a Nikon D70.

With the Canon, I never bothered to use lens hoods, as I didn't know

what they were used for and never really cared to investigate.

But since getting the D70 and joining this site, I've become curious.

I have the 18-70 D70 kit lens and the Nikkor 70-300 ED lens.

So my questions are...what is the purpose of the lens hood? Does it

really improve performance, and if so, how? Also, if you do recommend

using the hood, should I use it all the time on both lenses, or only

under certain conditions?

Basically, this is a general, what the heck is a lens hood used for

anyway type of question.

Any help will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Lens hoods are used to prevent flare - stray light getting into the lens which might cause haze and reduce contrast. Important when shooting in situations when you have bright light falling at an angle on the lens surface. Must you use one - no. But you must know which situations might call for one - then even the palm of your hand would do.

Hoods are the most useful when shooting towards a bright light source (the sun). They can

reduce lens flair but more importantly they can increase contrast in those situations. You can

get the exact same effect by using your hand or arm to shade the lens when light is falling

directly on the front element. That's what I tend to do. I shade it with my hand and I can

usually see right through the viewfinder when shade is needed.

I'm sure that others will have more detailed advice/information.