What to charge as Semi-Professional photographer?

meg_f.

<p>I have 6-1/2 years photography experience, an Associates Degree in Photography, and 7 wedding under my belt (along with maternity, family, newborn, etc...). My question/problem is that many of my weddings have been for family and friends, and I have done these for free, or for a major discount. I would like to earn more for weddings and photo-shoots, but I do not know how much I should charge. Another small issue I have is bringing the subject of payment up; I always worry about them not being able to pay what I ask. </p>

<p>My price list that I have settled on for now:<br>

Wedding Package 1: $750<br />Includes- Bridals, engagements, wedding day coverage (5hrs), cd of edited images, canvas 16x20<br /><br />Wedding Package 2: $650<br />Includes- Engagements, wedding day coverage (3 hrs), cd of edited images<br /><br />Wedding Package 3: $550<br />Includes- wedding day coverage (3 hrs), cd of edited images<br /><br />Maternity + Newborn: $300<br />Just maternity: $175<br />Just newborn: $175<br /><br />Family pictures: $150<br />Reunion pictures- 25 people: $175 ($25 for each individual family)</p>

It's very difficult to advise any photographer how to charge. There are so many variables involved. If what you proposed is

how you feel you have to structure your work than do it and test the market as such. You also are not really advertising a

full-day type coverage which could easily be $1750+

I was making more than $750 in 1998.

<blockquote>

<p>"I would like to earn more for weddings and photo-shoots"</p>

</blockquote>

<p>Is this a business question?</p>

<p>If this is a business question then, I think that you should break down and take a detailed look at each Package. Let’s take the most expensive package as an example (I assume US$):</p>

<blockquote>

<p>“Wedding Package 1: $750<br /> Includes- Bridals, engagements, wedding day coverage (5hrs), cd of edited images, canvas 16x20”</p>