What Focus Mode / Autofocus Area with D300 / D3 to shoot a wedding ?

orcama60

<p>Thank you in advance for your help. Pretty soon I will be shooting a wedding and this is my first time with the D300. For the processing, at the church, what would be the best Focus Mode / Autofocus Area Mode to use ? Considering that I will be shooting in front of, so the bride will be walking toward me, think It would be better to be at Dynamic Area AF and Continuos Servo, right ? What do you think ? Have you done it before ? Base on your own experience, what combination would you pick ? No flash will be allowed and I will probably use the 70-200 mm f/2.8 VR II for this shot. </p>

<p>Best regards<br>

Maurice.</p>

<p>Full frame? I don`t understand... Are you refering to Automatic AF Area? <br /> I like that settings for speed. If the subject is erratic, I select the optimal focus point (one of the mentioned 11 points), I try to focus on the eye and leave the system to track it... this only when it isn`t any other solution. It use to happen in a very few seconds. I use to find that if DoF doesn`t help, most pics are not perfectly focused here.</p>

<p>If the subject is static, I simply keep the central focus point, focus on the eye, recompose and shot.</p>

<p>It`s important to hold the camera firmly while the AF is working, and to place the AF point <em>exactly</em> where you want it... it could sound silly but in my own experience is not as easy. If time permits, I use to focus several times before shooting.</p>

<p>You might try a practice run with a lady in a white dress...and hope your camera can do a good job of autofocusing on a low-contrast subject. One old film hint: focus on a pew -- turn your AF off on the camera...and when the bride is at that point...take your shot(s) -- and hope you are good at your first wedding. [Without being the crinch, a wedding is not the place to test out new ways to get images for a one-time event.]</p>

<p> </p>