What do you charge for prints?

james_goller

<p>As a freelance sports photographer, I am curious what other photographers charge for photos.<br>

When I stated, I just wanted to make a few extra bucks and just charged the following:<br>

5x7 - $10<br>

8x10 - $15<br>

11x14 - $20<br>

I now realize this is very low and considering I have gotten better at shooting, I want to charge more.<br>

I went to an acquaintance's site and see he charges: $35, $50, $100.<br>

I do not consider myself a uber professional, so I don't want to charge a lot and get a bad rep on that. However, it was suggested I should be more worried about under-charging than over-charging.<br>

One family bought 12 5x7 prints and the $120 was a nice check, but if I charged $20 per 5x7, would they have purchased just as many photos for $240? I would give discounts to bulk orders, however.</p>

<p>Just looking for your thoughts on this? Thank you.</p>

<p> </p>

<p>Location, location, location (demographics, demographics, demographics). This is a market-related issue. If you're shooting young girls in show-jumping competitions on $10k horses (with $10k of lessons involved - to say nothing of clothing!), that is a substantially different matter than juniot high school soccer in a working class neighborhood. You'll get more constructive feedback if you can say a bit more about the economy in which you're working.</p>

<p>James -<br>

Several things factor into what you should charge for prints:</p>

<p>1) your costs<br>

2) value of your time and effort<br>

3) competition<br>

4) quality of your photos<br>

All of these factors need to be taken into account when you're pricing your work. </p>

<p>I'm not the cheapest sports photographer for parents to buy from - but then again - I'm not the most expensive either. I've had parents fill out an order form then walk away when they saw the prices - I've had parents fill out an order form and stay and order more because of the prices -</p>