Wet behind the ears

I am currently a single teacher with a love for photography. Don't

get me wrong - I am ABSOLUTELY an amateur. However, I am looking to

invest in some new equipment and start learning. I have looked for

apprenticeships in my area - to no avail. So, I have decided to

learn on my own as much as I can. I have scoured the internet,

taken hundreds of shots, ordered books, and spent hours in the local

library. I would eventually (we are talking years here) like to do

weddings/engagement portratits, right now I am just about learning.

I need advice on the best ways to learn and where to start as far as

camera equipment. I have budgeted about $3500 for new

camera/lens/computer upgrade. Any advice is more than welcome.

Thank you.

It costs a minimum of $12K to get into the digital photo business, and likely closer to $20K for a good starter system for your home office.

There is excellent advice for beginners in the a special section on the Wedding Photography forum.

Yuo need to start buying photo books now and developing your own library.

Kinsey,

I'd either buy the Canon Rebel XT or the Canon 30D Digital SLR (DSLR)and the Canon 50mm f1.8 lens and just start taking pictures. The Canon 30D and the 50mm f1.8 will cost you $1500. The Rebel XT body is about $600 - $650 less in price. Save the rest of your money for now and learn to use the DSLR with a basic, but very sharp and inexpensive lens... the 50mm f1.8. You'll have fun with it, believe me. It's one of the great price/performance portrait lenses for only $80 and like I said, very sharp.

Then, come back here and read all the posts from years past about all the other lenses that might fit what you want to do and ask more questions.

There's a lot to learn, and there's no sense "loading" up on lenses until you learn the camera and composition of photograghy.

I hope this helps.

//Chuck