Washed Out Colors

<p>I was in Romania last week, I took several landscape shots, in the day (with strong light). The result of my picture is very very disappointing, (Canon 7D). The colors are washed out, no contrast etc ... I same picture taken with a 100 USD camera give much better results ;-). What is the problem.</p><div>00Wc4h-249591584.jpg.1fdf07517f5792a691035e3dbfce6d3c.jpg</div>

<p>It's just overexposed (and, like you said, in the midday sun). The reason your cheap p&s gave you something that looked a lot better is that it's probably programmed to output pics with greater contrast. I did minimal changes to the levels, brightness, and contrast and ended up with this. I'm no ps expert, so I'm sure it could be even better. Definitely not as hazy, yes?</p><div>00Wc5Y-249601584.jpg.2e3a119c961c7a4a6498d6180bcf0018.jpg</div>

<p>I understand what you did, I did the same at home, and the result is so so ... specially the colors ... I do not want to have to rework my pictures all the time ... would for example a ND filter help in such situation (you can not always visit a place early morning or late afternoon which is more optimal for light), if so which type would you recommend?</p><div>00Wc5i-249605684.jpg.13d9b5ae02bfbd9274f9574f977c3d5c.jpg</div>

<p>Pierre -</p>

<p>Your camera has a very good histogram display. Are you using it?<br>

The curves should tell you quite clearly when you are over-exposing. Do not merely rely on the 'picture' on the LCD when out in bright daylight, but rely on the histogram curve.</p>

<p>Adding a neutral density filter (not a graduated) will do nothing to improve the situation. If you find the camera over-exposes for your taste and needs, simply dial in some EV correction. Check your manual for that. Check the internet (including this site's learning area) for learning how to read and use a histogram and your problems will evaporate.</p>

<p>Jim M.</p>