Use of rolleiflex TLR

michellemandat

I'm not a noted pro, nor a pro photographer anymore - used to be! I still carry TLR's including Rollei because they are easy to use, quiet, non-threatening to the subjects, and given some planning, the TLR still produces excellent results - although the user sometimes gets in the way :-). BTW: 6x6cm IS an excellent "people" format!

Dear Michel,

I´m a professional photographer, also a teacher and researcher of photography. Although I use 6x7 - 6x9 in studio, and mostly 135 outdoors with slides, I prefer to carry a Rollei TLR with me when travelling without car. Then I have an old (but excellent for b&w´s) Rolleiflex X. It´s not so expensive that it would be no (big) catastrophe if somebody steals it. In studio I sometimes use very flexible and handheld GX (because of having hot lights and because of GX´s excellent spotmeter). Also sometimes, but very seldom, I take "60´s-style" portraits with Tele-Rollei. Tele is also worth of trying on city and street scenes when you want them with "packed" impression of perspective. By the way, as a vintage Rollei I have an early automat which owner was a famous finnish press photographer (Johannes Kangas) from 1937 to 1972. I have some of his negatives - they are axcellent. But also this Rollei is in full condition, of course it´s lens is only for b&ws. Well, when I start to recall, my old teacher (Erkki Ala-Könni) photographed with Wide-Rollei in 60´s. His photos about most Northern part of Finland (Samí-Lapland)) are going to be a part of an exhibition "The Northern Glow" at Tampere Art museum, Finland, next year. So, quite many reasons to respect Rolleiflex-photographers and still use Rolleis... To be curious, what kind of idea is behind Your question??

With best regards

Hannu Sinisalo

Tampere, Finland