Upgrade to 40D vs. upgrade 70-200 f/4 to f/2.8

ed_v.

<p>Hello everyone, I'm an amateur photographer with about a year's experience with dSLRs. I've found myself shooting a lot of sports lately, especially low-light indoor venues like gymnastics meets. I have a Rebel XT paired with a 70-200 f/4L (non-IS) that I use at meets. I often get blurred shots either due to subject movement and/or improper focus. I'm sure part of it is user error, but I can't help but think better equipment might improve things, also.<br>

I've come to a point now that I can afford one of the following upgrades, but don't know which to pursue: Either I upgrade my XT to a 40D or the 70-200 f/4 to an f/2.8 (non-IS). I understand I probably should have both upgrades to get where I want to be, and sometime down the road I eventually will, but that's a long way away and I don't know which to do first. For now, I'd like to do the upgrade that will give me the most improvement. Both upgrades will cost me more or less the same, factoring trade-ins. So, if anyone experienced in these situations can offer some opinions, is the better autofocus, ISO performance and frame rate of the 40D worth more than the extra stop of the f/2.8 lens? Also, is there is something else I'm not considering?</p>

<p>It would be best if you could post a problem pix and let the board review it. Make sure the Exif is intact so we can see what the settings were when the shot was made. Most likely your AV was too low and you will need a boost in ISO to accomplish that.Are you using AI servo mode to follow the subjects movement (not sure your camera has that mode)?</p>