The limitations of "feeling" in viewing photographs

Discussion in 'Philosophy' started by cyanatic, Sep 1, 2014.

1. Whether he is an artist or not, the photographer is a joyous sensualist, for the simple reason that the eye traffics in feelings, not in thoughts.” - Walker Evans​
    Recently, I've been reading and viewing a book on Walker Evans put out as a catalogue in 2000 by New York's MOMA in conjunction with a showing of Evans' work.
    The text of the book is broken up into different sections, by different critics, each one talking about a particular phase of Evans' work. Unfortunately, I cannot find the specific section that inspired me to write this post. Essentially, it dealt with a particular photograph by Evans and discussed, in detail, the specific elements of the image that caused the writer to praise it so highly. I studied the photograph, and although I could see what the writer was talking about, I failed to find many of the elements on my own, and even upon finding them questioned the validity of them.
    Very often – too often, I fear – I look at another photographer's work and allow the feeling it gives me to guide me in my appreciation of it. I am capable of discerning certain basic technical elements (composition, color, tonality, etc.) but I am often at a loss to “see” what critics praise so highly in certain images.
    For me, this applies especially to some contemporary work, and to many abstract works from the past. (A few brief examples and not limited to these – Minor White, Man Ray, or some of the selections made for the annual photography show in Paris.)
    My impression of much of certain contemporary work which seems highly regarded is that it seems to be possessed of either an extreme post-postmodern ironic banality, or it is a highly produced, fantastical neo-pictorialist construct. I am not railing, as some are fond of, against the so-called “Art World”. I am seeking greater understanding.