off again, since 1973 (probably a total of 16 years actively

involved), and would like to get further education in the areas I

have not even attempted to pursue....and just because that "piece of

paper" opens doors. I full realize that how competent one is, is

what really matters, but those degrees do seem to open doors

otherwise shut

• 1 month later...

Hi Tom,

I hope you're still monitoring this post because I'd like to help you not make this mistake! I attended the Art Institute of Philadelphia and received my associates degree in Multimedia and web design. Right now the design market is very tough and jobs are far and few between. Since I graduated I moved to Tucson, AZ. Recently I decided to go back to school to improve my education. It has been made clear to me that due to the fact that the Art Institutes International does not have national accredidation, my college credits will not transfer to another college, not even another Art Institute. I had a 3.9 grade point average at the Art Institute. Now, I am left with a $30,000 loan that I must pay unless I wish to brave financial ruin for years to come. This may not seem like important information to you now but if you do not take this into consideration you may be in the same boat a few years down the road. I was not told that this would be an issue and I didn't know to ask. Please take my advice and reconsider your choices. Only consider attending a four year, nationally and state accredited university. You'll be glad you did. Keep in mind that the Art Institutes International is above all else a corporation. They care more about their image because it makes them more money, point blank.