Test Results: Pentax 67 vs Canon 5D

Discussion in 'Casual Photo Conversations' started by gallery1|1, Jan 13, 2008.

1. Many tests have confirmed that a good 10-12mp camera is equivalent to 645. But since 6x7 has twice the area of a 645 it would take the new 21mp 1Ds Mark III to equal 6x7. The Pentax is cheaper.

2. Thanks for the test. The Pentax does look more detailed. The Canon appropriately sharpened still holds up pretty well at that size and I would think this would be adequate resolution for quite large prints.

It's like the example on another thread here of a flatbed vs a Nikon MF scanner- sharpen the heck out of the former and it's hard to tell the difference between the two.

3. "Clearly the Pentax is the winner."

I've been using a Pentax 67II for about 6 years, and it's a fantastic camera. I've been using a 5D for about a year. Anyone who is interested in buying my P67II email me.

4. I had to upsample the 5D image

I used Photoshop's bicubic smoother

went through Camera Raw, with no sharpening or noise reduction

...how could this test could be reliable?

Anyone know that;

1_Any digital image need a bit of capture sharpening to get the perfect capture result.

2_That when you upsample a digital image it become blurrier, therefore you also need at that stage to apply a bit of sharpening to regain some details

Send me the file and i will redevelop it appropriatly so whe can compare apple vs apple correctly.

Im not implying that a 5D is better than a Pentax, i say that if you dont know how to develop & prepare a digital file the test result coudltn be accurate, like in your test. Maybe with better care the difference will not be that bad..then maybe you will like even more the faster way to shoot in digital ; )

5. Although I continue to love my Mamiya, I will point out that Nikonscan software applies sharpening, EVEN WHEN IT IS TURNED OFF. Also, all digital fles, scans or DSLR images, require sharpening.