Taking Pictures in a Gym

Hi - I have been doing photography for about 2 years. I have been asked to take

graduation photos of a kindergarten class but I am not sure about a few things. I

can stand anywhere I wish. And it is my intention to ask the teacher handing out

the awards on stage to turn towards me and have the kids do the same so I can

capture the shots. However, my problem is what is the best way to print them

off. I have two options, one is to take the pictures and print them off at the

graduation (there are 80 kids), and the other is to have the parents sign a sheet

with their name and address and send them to them. What would you suggest.

This is a private school so I am doing this without cost to anyone, hoping in doing

this I will be able to expand my client base. What do you suggest and if you have

any suggestions on what lens I should shoot with and at what shutter

speed/aperature that would be helpful as well.

The best lens choice depends on the camera. In full frame I would say anywhere from a 50 up to a 135mm lens would be best, probably an 85mm lens. Speed and aperature are going to depend on the amount of light in the gym, the speed of your lens and if you are using flash or not. No flash in typical gym lighting is going to call for about f/2, 1/125s and ISO800 give or take a stop. I would use whatever is necessary to get the minimum depth of field possible that leaves the teacher and pupil in focus. Even if they are 'stopping' I find that young children are rarely that still compared to an adult, I would use at least 1 stop higher then the minimum rule to get them in focus (1/focal length in full frame).

I would go with the solution for printing that is cheapest for you and ensures decent results since you are doing this for free. Printing at graduate sounds like it could take quite some time if there is anything like 80 prints, and since you are doing it for free I would expect most parents would ask for it.