Suggestions for a beginner

Hey guys, I am new to photography and Im looking for a good sturdy old camera

to learn off of. I dont want to spend crazy amounts of money so top of the line

camera's arent really needed. Just something that will turn out some beautiful

photos. What companies/models do you guys recommend?

You should probably get and SLR.

Best buy is Minolta SRT and/or x-700, x-370 etc.

No digital cameras use the lenses, so they are very cheap.

If you want to use the lenses on a digital camera someday, then Pentax is the best choice. Probably a K-1000 or similar.

Go to keh.com and you can see prices there. They are really cheap with digital taking over.

With older slr's lens availability is important. 24mm & 28mm architecture or landscape, 35mm street, 85mm portrait,105mm and longer are telephoto for when you can not get close to the subject. Telephot f/stops tend to be slow. If you are going back to the early '70s or even earlier the variable focus lenses could be heavy and their optics not up to the performance of the fixed lens. 50mm lens is the standard which the camera was sold with and you can find it with f 2.0 or less relatively inexpensively. The point of an early slr is that you could change lenses depending upon need. Ascertain what you would like to take pictures of and purchase the accompanying lens accordingly. Remember a popular camera from that period will be more common as will be the lenses ergo more readily available and less expensive. And, check the internet for essays on lens quality. It is usually better to get the faster lens but not always sometimes the last or widest f stop is not sharp. And, batteries for meters (If the meters are still functional.) tend to become a problem as many of these cameras used the now no longer available mercury batteries and you will need to make the appropriate changes.