subject clear with background blurred

I need help, i'm really a newbie in photography, like the point and shoot guy

only, i'm trying out this feature that's where my subject is sharp or clear

while the background is blurred. I'm using a Sony Cyber shot DSC-V3 7.2 mega

pixel camera. Please help....

I've already read the instruction manual and tried ajdjusting the aperture

boith high and low, and i'm only getting a blurred photo

thanks

To get a sharp picture you have to focus the camera, either using auto focus or setting the correct one of the 13 settings the camera manual focus system permits. It is unlikely that you will get very soft backgrounds with the subject sharp with your camera unless you are close to the subject and the background is a good way behind, and you use the narrow telephoto end of the zoom.

It sounds as if you have choosen manual focus but have omitted to focus the camera .. read that section of the manual.

Your camera uses a small sensor which results in its tendency to have a deep depth of field (ie: a wide distance over which items will be in focus). To create a photograph where the subject is in focus and the background is not, you can't just rely on a wide aperture (by that, I mean using a numerically small aperture like 2.8 or whatever the smallest number f-stop your camera supports at the focal length you're using).

You should also use a telephoto focal length and move close to your subject. The combination of tele, close focus, and numerically small aperture value will result in the subject being in focus (assuming you're focusing on your subject) and the background being out of focus.

If you're getting blur, it's possible your shutter speed is too slow.

larsbc

Alvin,

What you're asking for is the ability to use a concept called 'selective focus'. That is where the subject you choose is in sharp focus and the background is pleasantly blurred out.