Starting Photography Club for Kids, suggestions?

david_whelan3

<p>Hi Everyone!<br>

We're starting a photography club at a local middle school and wanted to pose the question -<br>

"What gear would you buy if the club had 10-15 kids?"<br>

Has anyone out there already done this, and care to share your knowledge and experience?<br>

I'm a volunteer and the teacher who's hosting the club doesn't know the budget yet, but we’re trying to put together a list for the Principal the next few days.<br>

I’m thinking we’ll do a variety of shooting – Portraits (kids taking pictures of kids), Macro (flowers, other close-up stuff), School sporting events and/or pictures of Zoo animals (zoom, fast glass needed), Outdoor landscapes (wide angle), and general school event photography (wide to telephoto).<br>

I think the key is to not put too much money into a single component, but give the kids enough different tools to experiment and learn.<br>

From my perspective, as a Canon shooter – here’s what I’ve come up with so far – definitely open to your thoughts!<br>

CAMERAS & GLASS</p>

<ul>

<li>5 Canon Rebel SLR bodies – maybe 3 with kit lens (covers general school events) - which models?</li>

<li>2 Canon Speed light – 400 series?</li>

<li>1 Canon 50mm f2.5 Macro lens (macro)</li>

<li>1 Canon 85mm f1.8 (sharp, for portraits, can also demonstrate shallow depth of field)</li>

<li>1 Canon 70-200 f4.0L (for sports & portraits - cheaper and lighter than f2.8L) - most costly item</li>

<li>2x extender – maybe Tamron, for extra reach with 200 lens (200 X 1.6 X 2)???</li>

</ul>

<p>Accessories:</p>

<ul>

<li>5 camera bags with lens cleaning cloths</li>

<li>Lens filters for all glass</li>

<li>5 CF memory cards – we’ll probably be shooting JPG mostly, so 8GB or 16GB</li>

<li>3 extra batteries</li>

<li>Use Picasa for basic photo editing (free) (for the basic students)</li>

<li>1 copy of Lightroom 3.3 (for the more advanced students)</li>