Starting out

davidjames

<p> Ok so i am trying to get a website going but in this process it seems more confusing than i thought it was. Basically im completely new to the whole make your own website thing and have no idea even where to begin. So i was wondering if any of you guys could help with the basics and what are some of the first steps i need to take to start to make a website. I would like to use Wordpress because it seems fairly easy to manage but exactly how do i do that do i buy a domain and then put word press on it? Any help is greatly appreciated here are some examples of what i would like to do.<br>

http://www.lbvphoto.com/</p>

<p>http://www.lapsleyphoto.com/</p>

<p>1<br>

"register" a name for your "domain", best would be with a .com or country specific extension.<br>

2<br>

find an internet provider to "host" your new domain, search for "hosting" to find one. That can all be done online here.<br>

3<br>

install Wordpress into your new webspace via FTP or use the providers simple web site creation tools for a start with a html site, configure email and more. You want a provider with my-sql database support<br>

4<br>

Carefully document and store all the passwords & login details you will get .<br>

5<br>

Get some help from a friend or ask here again.</p>

<p> </p>

<p>another question: im looking into the hosting and on the site im looking at it has linux hosting and windows hosting, now i am using a mac so is that going to interfere with this hosting or is it completely independent from my operating system?or do i have to have a matching hosting plan for mac?</p>