Speedlights: 600EX-RT vs 580EXII vs 430EXII

seroptics

<p>Hello!<br /> I was wondering the differences between these three speed-lights? One is $600, the 580 is $500, the 430 is $270.</p>

<p>I am new to photography (check out my photos here <a href="http://seroptics.com">seroptics.com</a>) and I noticed that I have problems shooting stuff indoors. Outdoors the image quality turns out to be good. The indoor pictures, no matter how good the composition, shows up as grainy. I would like to fix this. A friend of mine at a dance allowed me to borrow his speed-light and I was able to take better photos indoors that aren't grainy.<br>

If you look at the album here, <a href="http://seroptics.com/formal-ceili-2012/">http://seroptics.com/formal-ceili-2012/</a>, you can easily tell the difference between the pictures that was shot using the camera's flash and those of a speedlight. My friend used the 430EXII. I was wondering if I should just stick with that, or will a 580 or a 600 one show noticeable improvements that is worth the money?<br>

<br /> I was wondering if I should go ahead and invest on a $600 600EX-RT or stick with the 430? My camera's flash won't suffice.</p>

<p>Thoughts? Can you compare and contrast? What are the pros and cons of each?</p>

<p>The 600 has features and functions that you probably don't need or can't use... so take that off your list unless you want what it has that the 580 can't do and know what to do with it....<br>

That said... the 580 or the 430 will work for what you are doing. I have a 580 and frequently max out its power so for me I'm happy I got the 580 instead of the 430. More is better but you pay....<br>

I shot all these with a 5DMK II and one 580 in various configurations.<br>

http://www.esfishdoc.com/Gallery/Mindful_Interplay/index.html</p>

<p>OBTW.... HDR on skin is hideous! (my opinion)<br>

Richard</p>

<p>Forgive me, Richard! Haha. I am still new to HDR let alone photography. As a new photographer I find HDR amusing!<br>