Smoothing Handwritten Letters

<p>I'm designing a logo based on my handwritten initial. I used a medium point Sharpie, scanned to a 4800x4900 Tiff, and adjusted levels to pure black and white. Now I'd like some advice on smoothing the rough edges of the image. I'm using PS CS5. So far I've attempted various combinations of the following:</p>

<ol>

<li>Blur</li>

<li>Sharpening</li>

<li>Blur AND sharpening</li>

<li>Various eraser and selection tools, but my hand is not steady enough for fine adjustments</li>

</ol>

<p>I suspect that paths and the pen tool might take me where I want to go, but I have zero experience with either. Suggestions for an appropriate method or tutorial are much appreciated.</p>

<p>I've attached an image that illustrates the extent of the problem which may only seem a problem to me. I'll accept advice on that as well.</p>

<div>00aiFm-489489584.jpg.914c84f84534eef936b38325e4bd163d.jpg</div>

<p>I'm a Corel guy, not an Adobe guy. When I'm dealing with that scenario, I just vectorize the hi-res bit map so that I'm dealing with curves and nodes instead of pixels. Then you can smooth things out to a mathematical perfection, and also have the line art available at any resolution you could want, up to truly huge. Different tools inspire different strategies.</p>

<p>Hi, I am sure there are many ways, and especially if you are using the pen tool. But you might want to try this one; Using the magic wand selection tool (I use CS3), set the toleramce to a level of "1" and contiguous. Now click on the blackest black, you should get a selection. At this point if you zoom 200% you might, if you are lucky, see gray pixels not selected, these are your culprits causing ragged edges. But this is not the end. You now need to go to refine edge in the upper part of photoshop, at the top next to contiguous. this is where you will get your perfect smooth edges. start here, if you need help just post.</p>