Skateboarding Lenses

stewart_magnuson

<p>Hey I'm new to photography but have goofed around with my grand father's cameras a lot, but now I have my own. I own a Nikon D5000 with a nikkor 18-55mm VR lense. I enjoy taking pictures of skateboarding and I plan to ask for somethings for christmas for my camera so I came to look for help. I was thinking of getting the Tokina 11-16mm for it's wide angle shots. But that's all I could find that would sound helpful. Is there anything on top of that lense that I should get with it and or a different lense. I am also planning on asking for a SB-900 flash or just get my grand fathers SB-600. Is there some other lense I should get or if that's the right lense, is there anything I would need/want to get with it?<br>

Thanks,<br>

Stewart</p>

<p>"Is there anything on top of that lense"</p>

<p>A more expensive lens would be the AF-S 10-24mm Nikkor ($800 vs $600). At that wide angle, one stop less light may not make that much difference. Plus you will have a new SB900 flash :-)</p>

<p>BTW: You should check. I could be wrong, but don't think the Tokina 11-16mm has the built-in AF motor that your D5000 body will need. An alternative and cost less is their 12-24/4 "DX-II" version that has a built-in AF motor ($500). That combined with your grand father's SB-600 will be easier on the budget. But hey, you can change the body to a high end D700 body with AF-motor and the lens to the expense 14-24/2.8 Nikkor too :-)</p>

<p>The SB900 is a $500 flash. That's a lot to just "ask" for, in my book. I don't know if you will really NEED the features of that flash, for what you want to do.A new SB-600 is half that. A SB-400 is half that again. Read up on the flash units before you pick one to "as for ".</p>

<p> </p>