Single light studio portrait

hoang_nguyen6

Hi,

I'm new to studio lighting for portraits and given my limited budget, I'm looking to use just a single light

source. I am thinking of getting an Alien Bees B1600 flash unit with a large softbox , which I will use in

conjunction with a white reflector. Would this set up be sufficient to produce high quality lighting for

portraits? Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance for your help.

yes it would, but i'd opt for the calumet 750 if i were you. it's a better light and very versatile. and they are built like tanks. teh calumet accessories get rather pricey, but the lights are fantastic.

one light, one softbox (or umbrella) and a reflector can keep you busy for life! check out william coupons work. sure he uses an octobox, but it's one light, and he gets fantastic results. he uses the same setup with varying degrees of intensity.

get a good book on light itself, so you know what you are dealing with. it's a fanciful, yet faithful tool.

Sounds wrong. Better first check the Alienbees spec page, where the "output measurements" chart shows IS0 100 and a B1600 in medium softbox at 5 feet will be at f/22 to f/32. You can turn them down (four stops), but you also probably want the softbox to be closer than 5 feet. It also matters if you are at ISO 100 or ISO 200.

<p>

I use a AB B800 at 1/16 power in a Large softbox at f/11, up close at ISO 200. Up close is like 2.5 feet. That is just too much power, I would rather be near maximum than minimum. I recently ordered two B400 for portraits at ISO 200 (still 1/8 power in large softbox at ISO 200), and will use the B800 for background or something.

<p>

ISO 100 to ISO 200 is one stop.

<br>Double power is one stop.

<br>B800 to B1600 is one stop.

<br>Half the distance is two stops, but must be measured from the flash tube, not from the fabric.