Shooting with "models" in public parks, areas etc (more uk related)

alvinyap

<p>Hello pnetters,<br>

I am helping some of my friends who are into costuming (anime cosplay, specifically) do up a calander for their own personal use. Some of them have really sweet japanese kimonos and stuff, so my idea would be to shoot at a Japanese Garden. I tried to do it the proper way and contacted the authorities, and told them that I would like to bring my friends in to shoot, it would be non-commercial, I'm not professional, just a calendar for a bunch of friends but I was told straight off, unless I was a student (which I would get reduced rates) or a charity, it would be £XXX for a this amount of time. Let's just say for an hour at this park, I might as well go buy a new lens.<br>

I really do not want to run and gun, nor can I, as I want to shoot with brollies and grids etc.<br>

Would appreciate any thoughts on this :) I am hoping in autumn next year, to be able to get some of my friends down the main road of regents park, and I loan out a 300/2.8 and just shoot straight down, and all the golds and red dissappear into beautiful bokeh. :)</p>

<p>Regards,<br>

Alvin</p>

<p>Another issue that might arise is the possibility of your models having visible weapons (quite likely if my son's anime gear is anything to go by). Here is the Met Police guidance.</p>

<p><a href="http://www.met.police.uk/filmunit/documents/flowchart_filming.pdf">http://www.met.police.uk/filmunit/documents/flowchart_filming.pdf</a></p>

<p>Having said that he goes to great lengths to make sure his weapons look the business but could not hurt anyone.</p>

<p>Looking at Luis's list above I can't see the Kew Gardens Japanese garden anywhere. Maybe not quite Japanese enough?</p>